Ripley

Things I like: the characters, all of them.  I’m invested in order of KSW>LDH>6002.  I dun know enough of KHJ’s other than she’s bumbling and clumsy physically but can already tell she is  very very brilliant and talented in her field.  I want to know much more of them and I can’t wait for the A!N!G!S!T! to hit the fan.

For some reason, maybe the cast is generally very pleasing to me, I let things like a coincidence a minute (or less) driving the plot, bells and whistles of Yutaka/Miri’s fauxcest (I’m allergic to that particular histrionic exc in Damo)

I think LDH is uneven, she has her moments and she has her cringeworthy OTT habits of cutesy and damsel in distress SHOCK!face.  Give her darker, grittier, muddled stuff please writer, I like her in those scenes the most.

6002…is green.  He’s not yet find the rhythm of a modern day melodrama, a very fine line to make the acting seamless in the genre of intense make-belief.  He’s not there yet, he’s very very cute, I’m his fan noona/ahjumma, but he’s swinging fr trying too hard and being too mellow-y boyband-idol 6002.  I think Yutaka is fine if he chooses to relax and makes us believe Yutaka is a 6002, less hassle for him.  It can still work.  Synopsis is stating Yutaka is 32.  I hope it’s a mistake coz his characterization will still fit as a 22 yo, which is the max # of years I’m giving a icecream cone toting 6002 crushing on LDH.

BUT OMO! MY AHJUSSHI CRUSHING IS AT NEW HIGH!!  KSW is DREAMY and HOT yet soo REAL.  What a terrific actor, there’s not a moment of breaking out of the character, not one moment of resorting to actorly showiness (again my jab at LDH).   I felt so in sync and experiencing his every emotions transparent as it’s unfolding, unlike LDH, who is still mighty talented, but she’s not honed her skill as well yet.  Her emoting usu prefaced the scene and what’s her character will go through. 

I do love where MiRi is heading, the pace is so steady in showing how she’ll deviate further towards the messier deep end we can’t help but tag along with her to her hell and still feel sth for her always even if she changes into a completely cynical scheming bitch.  We had these 2 eps to know where she used to be and feel for our girl.  MY gut is also longing for the drama btn the girls, Miri will use HeeJoo, thinking she’s this simple sweet thing, but I dont see HJ as the nice pushover poor victim at all. I see sparks of feisty potential waiting to be unleashed!

Not to mention I can always hope for some bromance, no?!

The music director needs to be chopped, asap.  I can’t believe it’s almost a dealbreaker as much as I like many things about Ripley.  AARRRGGGGHHHHH!

Leave a Reply

