I live in Cheongdam-Dong

^ Double entendre, not particular clever.  But no truer words, it's the drama owning me and I'm literally living through everything I live in Cheongdam-dong.

I've started this daily less than a wk ago.   Yes a godtrillions eps daily.  I'm now on 33!   I'm eating less, sleeping wayyyy less,  I still have my full time job (I hope).  So do the math, every other breathing moment I'm watching some ILICDD (or Euro cup).

Taking a break to drop a line because my tummy needs a rest, is beyond painful since yesterday fr the sidesplitting lollllllz I can't stop.  I'm hoping I get a 6 pack out of this, but even not, I'm beyond grateful.

Every character is Precious.  It's not just hilarity, but hilarious w/ a heart-tucking kicker in the midst of it, that will turn on my faucet.  I have teared me up several times already.  If you can't tell already how insane I am marathoning 33 eps in ~6 days. Read this:  I rewatch scenes, many, those scenes so perfect and had me squeeing and/or loling like a swine in heat.  And I can never just rewatch once.

The characterization is beyond perfection, not that they r perfect. No lazy tropes here, even with our typical love triangle there r fresh little touches that had me jumping and dancing around my room.  I'm lost for words because there's a successful 30 sth single lady who is a top chef in the mix that is not particularly 'cool', at least not the standard cliched definition of all the pretty clothes, pretty facade and tasteful bling and aura screaming I'm lovely and Single! and loving it!, nor outlandishly clownly like a samsoon, just very very normal, I swear I see ALL my 30sth gfs in her here and there, that's why she's arguably my favorite character.  But most of the time, thus far, that title is shared by Doc.  He's one of the 3 stooges of the drama, 3 ahjusshi roomies that gosh…r killing my breathing left and right and have me wheezing for air in btn roars of laughing fits.  I won't call their funny slapstick, it's handled with so much care and thought for subtly and realism it's almost like I'm watching a writer Noh doing sitcom when the writing segue suddenly yet seamlessly into deeper RL issues.

Then the BIG double cherry on the cake.  Tension-filled bromance. I love everyone here, everyone.  But I need to talk about the Bromance! Between the love rivals!  Both of them will get the girls swoony alone in any other drama, but together?  EXPLOSiVE FIREWORKS!  I truly love our heroine, and I just finished a scene with so much going on with our heroine AND my fav chef present and you won't notice anyone or anything except the 2 heroes taunting/having hot eyesexing. I have a 'gosh! u r so my type' crush on one of them from the get go.  But no, that's so not all of it. HE got dreamier and dreamier with every scene since the fateful meeting with his rivalry. Manly, hotter when pissed, hottest when taunting his rival. And his rival is not too shabby himself, I've spent 30 eps with him being the filthy rich chaebol who has his interest sorta piqued by our Cinderella heroine, but he's KIND, and kinda a player.  I'm befuddled with him tbh all along.  BUT COME THE MEETING OF THE BOYS! BAM!! Everything starts clicking, gears in full.  Fireworks of cuteness, both of them just got ridiculously cuter and hotter instantaneously.  As a result my brain is fried.  I'm still on my initial ship, but then I can see heroine with the other guy.  BUT most importantly I ship them boys together!

Last but not least did I mention the 60 sth matron of the family and drama is a manga and poetry fiend?  Who will rabidly fangirl the same gorgeous namja EXACTLY like us?! And she is Kim! Hye! Ja!  I wish I can grow up and be her character here.  I have potential on the manga and fangirling fronts.

I'm such a longwinded crazywoman.  Just wanna get it out why I'm so 'quiet' on drama front.  I find my new supercrack and I wanna spend every breathing moment with it. 

This is a lovely gist/short recaps of ep 1-5 linked to me by a chingu: http://kdramaguk.blogspot.com/2012/05/special-recap-guksoo-loveline-episodes.html  Check it out!  I can't find a better incentive to learn Korean (or Chinese since there r lovely Csubs very up to date as usual)

Ciao~~!  I may not be back, but don't worry! xxx

15 thoughts on “I live in Cheongdam-Dong

  1. It’s one of those with gzillion episodes (still not finished – right?), otherwise I would’ve probably picked it up (heard good things about it) but I was already watching another long daily (not nearly as much fun I’m sure).

    Where are you watching this btw?

    1. I watch it on tudou by searching 住在清潭洞. And it’ll pop up a playlist of all 130+ eps. I’m at 34 now and the timing is off, but add on 修正版 and I got the edited ep.

      Did you read Dahee’s enamoring of this lovely gem? NO TRUER WORDS. IF I have 9 hours, I would’ve sat through all of it watching 18 eps of ILICDD.

      1. Found another site to watch it (it’s in English/Korean so I know what I’m actually doing – no subs, alas but I understand enough to get by), the vids are still mostly tudou. Quality is pretty good though. Watched ep 1 and can’t say much about it yet but I can see potential… I just hope it won’t turn into an obsesson as I could really live without one of those right now (I don’t have time for obesessions!!!)

  2. CURSE! Why do I speak/ know the wrong Asian language for this?! >=[

    I’ve been reading praises for this and the recaps sound pretty awesome already (if only for the guys. Am not sold on the heroine yet but her pep talk to herself was great.) but alas! I can’t get the goodies b/c I need Eng subs and the subbing community tend to sub the sucky dramas aka. dramas that I don’t/not watching. hur

    1. I’m much further along now at 51 (yes iz nuts) and if I make a post about how it just double its awesome ep by ep, now scene by scene, I think I’ll crash lj.

      …and fr dahee’s post http://daheefanel.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/loopy-for-cheongdam-dong/ on this gem (she’s the reason behind me checking this out in the first place) it didnt even hit full gear till 77!!!!! I can’t believe this tbh, coz what I’m watching now is beyond flawless. I’ve never been happier as a bipolar fangirl, loling one minute, sobbing with my heart full the next.

      The thing w/ the characters r they r not put up on some cliched pedestal. Heroine is winning my heart flaws and all because the script is so amazing in building her bits by bits, letting us know where she’s coming fr (eg the pinning for a rich playboy-ish guy). She is adorbable aside fr that (and often even while pinning), I promise.

      Hey, how bout emailing to WITHS2? or viki? Because I honestly can’t think of anything last few years CLOSE to this gd. And I think this is pretty light a commitment as opposed to the sagueks that go on to the moon and sun and forever. I totally agree with you with fansubbing teams only pickin up projects w/ mass appeal/well known star actors which usu r stinky turds in my book.

  3. What am I(I’m on EP 6) compared to you and dahee chinggus? hahaha XD But I’m having my slow good time with this, it makes me all cuddly and warm. Every single char has a unique charm that kills XD

    I’m enjoying Hye Ja’s story the most right now, the way she feigns herself a rich lady and spawns lies after lies in front of her poetic chinggus, I can’t even! LOOOLL

    1. Yup, been there Chingu!

      We fell in love with HyeJa first and foremost, then JiEun. The 3 stooges, DOC! Unni!!! HYUN!WOO!!!!! THEN a slowly growing soft spot for SangYeob. And never disliking ANYONE to begin with, your heart just grow larger and exponentially larger to accommodate them all as the eps mount up.

      Good. Luck. I dare you able to take it slowly and goodly an ep at a time later on.

  4. just finished watching it, once of the funniest sitcom i’ve ever watch, the love triangle between Hyun Woo-Ji Eun-Sang Yeob are the best, even though i dont understand what they are saying cause there’s no available eng subs but still i enjoy watching it.

    1. Oh this makes me soooo happy that you like it even though you watch it sub-less! *hug* 😀 What is sticking with me more is how heart-tucking and poignant so many moments there are in the ‘sitcom’. Along with the side-splitting roflmao, I had never been moved to sobbing tears the next moment watching a sitcom. It truly has everything, every enjoyment of every genre present and elements are not thrown in like a kitchen sink, but done as well as we’ve seen.

      1. yes, i concur! same thoughts as mine! watching it again, just love them so much, esp the love between Ji Eun-Hyun Woo and the bromance between Hyun Woo and Sang Yeob! haha i just wish there’s an available english subs 😦 you understand korean? lucky you! do you know what was written here, this from episode 137, i know only what was written below is like ‘Oh Ji Eun Shi saranghae’? but i dont know what is the other one, 😦 – http://i145.photobucket.com/albums/r213/Lhay_24/pic2.jpg

        1. I’m not K fluent at all! But there are CN subs, I’m very grateful. Hopefully there will be engsubs v v soon. *hugz* 😀

          Oh gosh I just went and rewatch 137 for the 4th time! haha it’s one of my fav eps. In case you need a bit of background, they r playing a game where they wrote their most guarded secret anonymously. Someone wrote ‘ I love Oh Ji Eun sshi’ (the bottom one) and JE immediately thought it’s HW, and since after Doc’s deduction the personwho wrote the ‘I love Hwang Jung Min sshi/ Chef Unni’ is the same as the one who wrote I love OJE’ Doc deduced further the I ❤ HJM is a decoy to make the I ❤ OJE not as blatant. Yet when JE got back home and look further into the notes, she noticed that's not HW's writing, but he is the one who wrote the upper note:' I kept a lot of truths from the person I love, including my background, education, family, everything.'

          DunDUNDUNNNN!

          1. waaaaah, i’m really really glad and thankful that i visited your blog, nobody is answering my questions on soompi, huh…huh… *tears* though i have a little idea of what they are saying based on their facial expressions and actions but still i’m clueless in most of the scenes. 😦 on the first few episodes of ILICDD, soompi members explaining what happened but they stop on the most memorable episodes probably ep90 and up, i hardly sleep at night thinking of what they are saying, just wish you will not sick of me for answering all my questions, ahmmm another question, on episode 127, OJH and HW first kiss at the end of the episode, there is a very cute background song,do you have any idea of what is the title of the song?. i really really want the song…hahaha

Leave a Reply

