Surprises

I’m surprised I liked The Hobbit despite a LOT of grumbles, a lot (I don’t usually sleep/snore in public places but I did in LoTR 1 and 3).  I loved the Hobbit as a 10 year old, but when I read LoTR later, I was already initiated into the world of Louis Cha and I just love all the palpable angst and fantasy wuxialand where the heroes were more believable, often normalfolks than elves and orcs and a true make-belief.  Perhaps I’m just a twisted angsty plot junkie.  So Hobbit will forever be an endearing, lovely children’s book for me.  While I think Peter Jackson does breathtaking PRETTY on screen,  I don’t find him an exciting storyteller at all, I’m consciously aware almost every scene went 5, 10 mins too long without forward momentum except to showcase state of the art high tech whatever.  I HATE 3D still, it had never added anything to my movie theater experiences, not once.  I hate the blur, and the motion is at times too real it’s unnatural or too shaky to tell what’s going on.  Perhaps too old-fashioned to appreciate when I’m too aware I’m seeing a movie, none of it is real and when every frame is visually overloading my brain to go on overdrive befuddled with all these too realistic fallacies,  it takes up my attention to interpret the scene and have my own thoughts on the higher priority:  the storytelling.  As expected, Hobbit1 has an obscene amount of padding, whole scenes invented for the movie, mostly unnecessary.  Fans of Frodo and Saruman can ALWAYS rewatch LoTR ad nauseum if not doing it already.   I don’t think there’s any fan going into the movie to see BC only, but if there is, bring rotten eggs.  But why do I like it?! Two words: RICHARD ARMITAGE.  His awesomeness and pretty does the movie so much good.  For any other slighter actor, those relentless seconds long close-up of posturing, bring-own-wind-machine hair billowing, glowingly lit from the best angle behind treatment of every freaken scene is  a landmine for hamming, not here, every single one of RA’s closeups are perfectly gorgeous yet intensely emotive. *I don’t care if this sounds blabla<3blasqueeeeeblablabla silly fangirl talk*   My memory is failing me, is Thorin EVER described as the Adonis of Dwarfs?!  Not saying others are not doing a good job ( I still am your fan Martin Freeman!) but RA is just tooo sparklingly dashingly gorgeous I’m so distracted from everything else.

Ooku~Tanjou~: What a glorious emotional ride I had.  Thank you!  I get so chock full of emotions every episode and I’m surprised how well it’s acted, or I should say how much every actor’s acting is affecting me.  I’ve just never been so explosively overwhelmed watching a J Historical where things are as pristinely controlled and understated even when plots and lines are so bizarre to our modern foreign ears.  *spoiler:  I mean one of the greatest accomplishment of lady Shogun is to let out most of the guys in Ooku and encourage them to inseminate as many childbearing women in their villages, thus providing the shogunate a future population to rule…and it does make sense!*  I’m a Masato fangirl, so I am weirdly entertained by his obvious hamming, but still there are so many meticulous nuanced touches so befitting the character I have to give him credit where he deserves and EVERY OTP scene= perfection.   But my biggest surprise will be if Tabe doesn’t win an award for her performance here.  She’s the most talented U25 in Japan by such a humongous margin.

Cheongdam Dong Alice 5- I was so curious where this will go after 4 even when a lot of things are bugging me (namely PSH and I’ve not yet let out even a chuckle, not a scene is one bit hilarious for me when I know some scenes are intended to be).  This is the episode crucial for me leaning towards yay or nay.  Sorry MGY, it’s a Nay when I just realized your character takes some sillypill and is clinically retarded for a 28 yo who has romantic relationship experience.  As a fashion designer, the paltry talent  is appalling, not deserving my rooting for you to go anywhere till you’ve worked hard on your profession instead of screaming injustice, brimming with earnest tears, green with envy with things you do not deserve.   I find the Alice/White Rabbit reference tiresome, even though PSH is blindingly White/Albino and can do an imitation of a bizarro chicken (WTH was that ‘letting loose’ chicken-flapping and clucking about?!?!?!?!), but chickens are not rabbits   I stopped at the measuring tape scene because it’s asking old grump me too much to suspend a 28 yo woman would have no cognition the guy has IDEAS, not strictly business at all, esp that could never meet the boss excuse is so LAME.  Furthermore, PSH’s dictionary has no synonyms of the word subtlety, I cringed some more when he’s measuring tape her, which is workplace harassment and has me shrieking EWWWWWWSSSSS.    Finally I flipped my laptop when she is either not knowing he is measuring her body, nor does she think it’s anything odd (which is back to my point this kind of stupidity and ignorant is what I roll eyes at my 28 year olds drama gfs esp they are as talented and intelligent in RL as MGY ).  17 min in, I’ve seen as much close ups of fugly sportscoats, shoes, and pocket squares, whole line of SingSung merchandizes than MGY. <- So unforgivably wrong!

10 thoughts on “Surprises

  1. I’ll trek to the used bookstore one of these days to buy the book but until then I still haven’t read a single word from Hobbit. That was pretty much the truth for Harry Potter until the 6th movie as well >_< at least I've got (the time of) two more releases to catch up 😀
    I loved the movie though. It's obvious it was made for the cinemas. Very text book storytelling. But I'm easily manipulated. I find myself laughing and gasping at the right moments anyway. RA is… just… ~swoon. Sometimes I think his eyes are perpetually expressive and his voice perpetually pained they actually add the ham factor. Or maybe I just pay a little too much attention to him. Like every half second or so. With not a nano sec in btw.

      1. Which Avatar? The blue ppl or Airbender? I liked both. Blue ppl for the truly most amazing 3D animation I’ve seen possibly even til now. Story was throwaway though.
        Yeah the orc chase was kinda round n round. But I wasn’t bothered. I think if I like most of something I’m just able to forgive the rest.
        Thanks for the audiobook link! I’ll get right to it.

        1. Blue ppl one ^^ Yes it’s visually stunning but the story it’s trying to tell can be said in 2 lines and I can’t sit through 2 hrs+ of not much substance.

          I just thought Hobbit the book can be done in one movie and it’ll be an awesome ride, there’s no need for all the fillers.

          I listened to the audiobook last few days while driving just to prep myself haha.

  2. I agree with everything you said about CCDA, except for the PSH part.. cause I love him in CCDA. But 10x agree on HSK. While I AM enjoying CCDA very much.. simply because it’s addicting. I just really can’t stand HSK’s naiveness and stupidness.

    ” Sorry MGY, it’s a Nay when I just realized your character takes some sillypill and is clinically retarded for a 28 yo who has romantic relationship experience. As a fashion designer, the paltry talent is appalling, not deserving my rooting for you to go anywhere till you’ve worked hard on your profession instead of screaming injustice, brimming with earnest tears, green with envy with things you do not deserve.”
    You took the words out of my mouth.

    1. But…the same exact thing can be said about PSH’s character as well. When we met him he’s supposed to be a self-made man, but the more time I spent with his character, the more he’s some hormonal adolescent monkey making a fool out of himself! I also do not see any prowess professionally making him so accomplished, and he’s supposed to have some kickass plan of revenge, I don’t even think he has the brain capacity to function in his daily life. He’s a top designer, but his caked blood maroon velvet KFC colonel half costume with floppy slacks for a white tie event is O___O. haha I’m an equal opportunity meanie. I just care much more about MGY and she’s so talented than the rest of the cast combined and more to be in this.

  3. I kinda feel the same about CDA..I’ve watched it up to episode 5. The first few episodes were okay, but the second half of episode 4 really hooked me and I thought it was finally getting on track…and then, episode 5 lost me again. I feel like a lot of of plot points feel forced. For example in ep.5, the benzene/hospital segment. Yes, I can see that they are trying to ingest as much humor as they can and it did draw a few chuckles out of me, but the premise was just so…, I mean what kind of idiot picks up a non-sealed water bottle (sans label and with bottles of other colorful substances nearby) and starts drinking? Also, do we really need the emoticon bunnies as yet another drama mascot for marketing purposes (I hope they don’t show up too often)? I don’t know, the writing just feels kinda of lazy. I think your use of adolescent to describe PSH’s character is pretty right on. His is the one characterization that bothers me the most. Granted its not an easy character to play, but each time he switches between his many personalities, It feels like he’s just changing clothes, and the result is jarring…I can not connect with him at all nor do I see any chemistry between him and MGY. But I’ll withhold further judgement on the drama until a I’ve seen a few more episodes because I do like MGY and despite the flaws you pointed out in her characterization, I think she’s doing a great job acting wise.

    1. MTE!!!! It was the second half of 4th ep intriguing me as well. I’ve seen 5 and 6 in entirety now and still…I’m not feeling any natural flow in the development of the relationship of the OTP and no sparks at all. Yes there is skinship of sorts and all the token formularic stuff, but it felt like MGY is acting her socks off on one end of the camera, and PSH is also trying to act convincingly but not really at the other end and there’s a Han river btn them. Cha fell for our Girl almost like instantaneously in 3, and he is aware he’s enamored and doing everything in his power stalkerish to have her in his proximity for his pleasure as much as he can. I don’t really see them knowing more of each other last 2 eps, he thinks every idea she has, everything she does is gold like a boy crushing a girl would. I’m still not sure why MGY’s character is suddenly a blushing teenager crushing the guy and buying all the crazytalk he’s yapping about without any processing, and hello gf, not long ago you were crying a river over your long term bf ex, and he’s been wiped off from existence. I’m fine with her setting out to work towards her goal, but do we break up with past feelings as easily?! This is not the girl I met, kinda jaded and bruised by fate but with some of her own savvy ideas of how to get things she wants a few eps ago. With that little book of how to get a chaebol cliffnotes, she is set on finding the Time Rabbit as her life goal. And how to make the guy fall for her and so on without real care about her career and responsibility towards her family. I guess if I’m into fanservice and huge OTP shipping above anything else then maybe I’ll be loving this forced ‘cute’ date in ‘french’, but I need my characters be logical and cohesive in the first place. I am a huge fan of MGY since forever and she’s still doing an awesome job here, BUT I really am scratching my head bare what is the awesome in writing everyone is raving about but escaping me. I guess I need to be a PSH fangirl to selectively shut my critical judgment.

      I also think the emoticon bunnies are soooo juvenile and tacky for this mystery snotty big shot honcho at the center of things. I can’t for one imagine a CEO of this line of work in particular be impressed with this AT ALL. And it would be delusional for someone to even think this will impress a refusing to even see your face recluse.

    1. oh same minds!

      hahaha I am a RA fangirl since North and South! ^^ IF there is a silly contest on the most time a fangirl have seen that kiss on one go and in one’s lifetime, I’ll win both for SURE! XD

Leave a Reply

